Still flowering

We woke to thick fog mist and with a real chill in the air.  It's starting to lift now, mid afternoon but we've staying indoors.

I have written all the Christmas card envelopes and split them so JJ can write the cards for his friends and family and add any messages.  

The shopping arrived early and has been unpacked and put away.  

I've been looking through old British Library newspapers, in particular for a great aunt who was a Soprano in the music halls in the 1920s.  In 1924, whilst staying in Bradford with her mother she apparently set light to herself whilst shampooing her hair with a petroleum preparation when the vapour from a nearby candle caught fire.  Her mother tried to put the flames out but was also burnt in the process.  They were both hospitalised for a short while and it doesn't appear to have finished her career.

I have also discovered that one of my Cornish great grandfathers was in an accident at East Pool mine in 1905 and survived with injuries to the body.

I'm still searching for another article I found years ago about a woman who was found dead beside her ironing board.  Such dedication to household duties.  I do hope it was mentioned on her headstone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.