Lily of Memories

It was a cold start to the day but warmed up a little. We didn't get much sun or any rain.

This Lily bulb came originally from my great grandparents burial plot in Pigeon Bay. I remember them growing there when I would visit the cemetery with my father many years ago. When I returned to New Zealand after living in London for 16 years the plot was over grown the Lilies were all gone.

After doing my Ancestry DNA a cousin made contact with me and I found out she lived around the corner from me. Her uncle who would have been my 2rd cousin had managed to get a few of the Lily bulbs from the Pigeon Bay cemetery before they became over grown. He had given her some and she gave me some. There is another story about the retrieval of the bulbs... but I will tell that story another day, maybe. I could smell the scent of them while writing this.. but they are outside on the other-side of the house. Sometimes strange things happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.