Border Tails

By Swannie

Somebody wants a real fire!

Last night was probably the coldest of the year so far, and it didn’t get much warmer for the rest of the day. Not the best time for my boiler to stop functioning! I heard it start up when I put the heating on around six o’clock, but thirty minutes later, it had packed in.

I phoned my boiler insurance people, they logged the call, took payment of my excess and said I’d hear back within the hour. Their communication was excellent, they phoned me almost every hour to tell me they were still trying to source an engineer! Finally, at around one o’clock they rang to say an engineer will attend tomorrow between midday and three.

I borrowed a wee oil filled radiator from Christine next door and looked out my wee halogen heater. Right now, I’m warm enough, and so is Maly, but I would love to have a shower.

Spent most of the day at a virtual conference and apart from a few IT gremlins, it all went very well. These conferences are usually held up in Aberdeen or Aviemore, and I would never think to go by myself, so I was delighted to be able to attend this one, as I could do so from my sofa.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.