Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The trading moon

The Native American Cherokees called the November moon the trading moon as after the harvest they would travel around to the other villages and towns to trade items that they had for other items they may need for winter.    It is also called a friends moon as they met new people and made new friends.   

If they lived in the woods in the mountains of South Carolina or North Carolina they probably saw the moon rise through the trees much as I did tonight.  The leaves are still hanging on in our area and in the mountains on some trees.  Plus we have so many pine trees.     I don't think this is the actually full moon but a waxing gibbous one with tomorrow being the full moon.   But it looked full to me! 

I am glad I happened to notice it coming up behind the trees.  Now that the leaves have mostly fallen I get to see the sky more.  

Hope your tomorrow is a good day!   

      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.