Balls...

You ever get that sinking feeling when you start a task and then it suddenly gets more complicated as something happens that you didn't expect. It's a 'oh bugger, I think that's burst' moment.

I had that feeling tonight when I decided that the clicking in my front bike wheel was sounding a fair bit worse than normal and not at all natural.

Took the wheel off, took the main quick release clip out, couple of spanners to release the mechanism and these little fellies started dribbling out. I didn't realise that bicycle wheels had loose bearings in them as I'm used to skateboard bearings that come in a round metal housing. That's where the sinking feeling came in.

Luckily, it became apparent just how the wheel was put together and a quite tally of the released bearings came to an even number so I figured I hadn't lost any.

Turned out to be a not too difficult job to take the thing apart, clean it all out, re-grease it and put it back together. It just think I might have left it too long and may have to source a new axle part. Ach well, you live and indeed learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.