Baby catkins

The quince flowers are forming. The buds on the rhododendrons are starting to swell. It feels as spring is just around the corner.... just as the temperature plummets.

A gorgeous sunny day. To start with, not cold enough to be “crisp” and for most of the day very pleasant. Got on with tidying up the front garden and was struck by the number of delivery vehicles visiting our part of the street. I counted over 15 in the space of a couple of hours: one delivering to us. On a few occasions the same company appeared. Christmas shopping and Black Friday in full swing.

I was a bit surprised to see these emerging catkins on our twisted hazel. I’ve not seen them this early before but it may be I’ve not looked. But with some strawberries producing flowers and buds even now, and still one or two sweet pea appearing, I should not be surprised. It is 2020!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.