Three of us had decided that we'd go to the Roaches today, hopefully to climb, but because the weather was likely to be damp we all put walking gear into our respective car boots as well. 

Sure enough there was thick fog and enveloping dampness. Unfortunately we didn't make the decision to walk until we'd gone up to the rock and had a look, at which point it wasn't worth going back down to the cars to offload the heavy bits in our packs. So we walked about 10 miles, with much upping and downing, carrying gear, ropes and guidebooks. Good training... for something! I really should have worn my walking boots though instead of keeping approach shoes on, because by the end my feet were a bit sore from the comparative lack of support. It's not what approach shoes are designed for and I don't  think it does them much good. I had no blisters though, despite my socks falling down continually. The socks are now in the bin!

The two extras are of sparkling water droplets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.