If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Dendrobium.

A while ago Kanyl gave me a rooted Keiki from his Dendrobium.  For those of a scientific nature a Keiki is an adventitious side shoot.   Perhaps knowing the word is Hawaiian for baby or child will make the term more understandable.

Well it had a flower bud on it at the time.  Oh great you might think.   Wrong when a Dendrobium flowers it drops its leaves and the "stem" reverts to its job as a pseudo bulb (food store),

Not having grown a Keiki before it seemed illogical that it should sit there as a pseudo bulb for ever more.  So I continued to treat it as if it was a full growing plant.  Today I spotted this shoot pushing through and less than 1 cm long.  It would seem patience is a virtue, so I just had to make today's blip a record shot, otherwise I will forget when it started to sprout.

I see I blipped the flowers in March so it has been a long wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.