Fresh from the oven!

The cakes are finally baked and ready for more brandy before the marzipan and icing! The fruit was steeped for longer than normal because of other more important distractions but I'm sure it won't have had a detrimental effect! I hope they taste ok as they aren't all for Barry and me! Always more stressed about the outcome when baking for others but fingers crossed all will be well, or at least edible!
I had some lovely message time with my young grandson yesterday who has been allowed a phone, he's now 10, to use under supervision. He sent me some photos of their day putting up decorations and eating a lovely turkey dinner. They always have a pre-Christmas, Christmas Day, spending the whole day decorating the outside and inside the house culminating in a super roast dinner. Lovely to see happy smiling faces.
I had a FaceTime call from my brother. He had a slight set back earlier during the day but the doctors had sorted it and he was now back on track although his heart rate is raised again, not quite as high as before. He says they don't seem too concerned about it although he clearly is. Unfortunately he has all the machines with their bleeps and their flashing numbers in clear view. All the time I spoke to him he was turning  to look at them. This is not a good thing for my brother who definitely errs on the side of panic. He has tubes that mean he doesn't need to make any effort to breathe and others pumping fluid through his lung to clear it. It's a long waiting game at the moment but good that he is now able to talk for at least a few minutes  to everyone. I hope they keep him until he is properly recovered this time as I know he will nag to go home at the earliest opportunity, like last time!
Mum is bearing up and did take herself out briefly yesterday to pick up bread and milk. We're all trying our best to keep her in good cheer.
Monday tomorrow, always a menu planning day and online shopping order. Two this week,  as it's Barry's mum's fortnightly order too. That will keep my mind occupied for a bit. Maybe some Christmas card making too. Hopefully the wool I have ordered to make something for myself, for a change, will arrive and the colour will be as good as the online photos!
Never a dull moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.