Reflections and Shadows at Bald Eagle State Park

It was a fine, sunny day, during a weather trend that's been milder than usual, for late November. So we seized the day and went for a couple of little hikes at Bald Eagle State Park.

We hiked on the Skyline Drive Trail, the Butterfly Trail, and the Swamp Oak Trail, where I got to visit the largest swamp white oak in Pennsylvania (see extra photo). The gate is locked now, so we didn't get to go to a favorite spot, the Hunter Run East Launch; maybe next time we'll park by the gate and walk down to the dock.

And our final stop was by the lake, where my husband sat and read his book while I walked a little ways on the Woapalanne Trail (yes, some of these are Native American names). That is where I came upon these wooden structures in the water that are there to enrich the fish habitat.

I found that the blue sky and the golden posts made for some really lovely reflections, and so I stood there for a while, just playing with the light. It was a very Zen moment, just me and my camera, and the reflections and the shadows on the water. I was happy.  :-)

The soundtrack song is a piano track by Brian Crain, Reflecting Pool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.