Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Roots

Yikes it was a cold morning, misty, grey and 6C. Xena wore her fleece coat today, she doesn't really like wearing anything if I put it on in the warm house, but when I put it on when we are already outdoors I think she is grateful for the extra warmth as her natural coat is so thin and she has no fat for insulation.

Not much inspired me to take photos today, the mist was not thick enough to be effective in photos, and the grey dull light was just bleh. However these roots are interesting, how those tall pines remain anchored by those roots is a mystery.

I no longer make a Christmas cake anymore as I usually end up with half it of remaining by March the next year, and everyone says they don't really eat it. However I have bought those bite sized stollen pieces and the packs of thin slices of Christmas cake from Waitrose in preparation for Christmas in case anyone feels like a treat, and somehow I find I have to keep replacing them every week when I go shopping....there must be  a little mouse in the pantry!

Last night we watched a lovely gentle movie on Prime called Summerland - Gavin actually stayed awake! I needed something gentle after reading my harrowing book How We Disappeared which is about a 'comfort girl' in WWII - everyone knows how cruel the Nazis were but oh my word the Japanese soldiers were no better. Tonight I have my camera club meeting on zoom and we are having a talk on 'how judges think' which should be enlightening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.