Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Lumber Mill parts are painted. Whew!

Today the parts are dry and painted for the n scale lumber mill kit to go in Rifle CO.  The building is mostly green with white windows, doors ad trim.  When the kit was produced, the manufacturer tried to get the most parts on each piece of wood.  So, there is sort of a miss match - some parts need to be green, some light gray, some silver, some brown and so on.  I usually leave all the parts attached to their carrier sheets.  Way easier to paint.  But this kit was a challenge.  I removed many parts to be painted separately, trying to leave as many pieces on the carriers as possible.    I also labeled the parts so I could find them later.  The window sheet was a pain to be honest. The entire sheet is made with adhesive backing.  MANY small parts.  So I masked off everything but what got white paint spray.  Then covered that and shot flat black, then more masking and did gray, and finally used an ink stain on some parts.  All came out fine.  Off to assembly!

In the extra, there is a extra with photos of the finished kit by the manufacturer.  I usually have such a photo on my work area so that I can see what the various assemblies will or are supposed to look like.  

The other extra is of a series of S scale vehicles for the Sn3 layout. Most were bought on eBay, and a couple from train shows. On eBay, one of the sellers asked what I was going to do with his "collectable" vehicle he had just sold me.  I told him I would hit it with dull-coat (just done) to give the surfaces tooth and then weather them with pan pastels - make them dirty. Also have to paint out the white walls. All I heard on the phone was a sharp intake of breath - I guess the vehicle had never been out of the little plastic case it came in.  Not collectable any more.  But - S scale vehicles are hard to find.

I will weather these vehicles while assemblies for the lumber mill dry. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.