Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Had to be

St Andrew's Day today, so of course I had to blip my dinner, haggis 'neeps and tatties to the uninitiated. Not that I think St Andrew ever actually ate it, but I do, and it's one of my favourites. MacSweens of course.
Monday morning and I went quickly to check the mirror after yesterday's contretemps with the mantlepiece. Fortunately the arnica has done its job and I just have a small dark bruise by my eyebrow. It still hurts but I don't look like the victim of an accident to my relief. Thank you everybody for your sympathy.
I didn't do very much today, picked up the shuttlecocks a member of our area fb group had offered in response to our plea yesterday and I had my Reunion Group this afternoon, good to catch up with everybody.
I also went down to M&S, it was mobbed down at Craigleith - is it a public holiday today? I bought a Christmas tree while I was there, I've stuck it in a bucket in the garage till I'm ready to bring it in and decorate it. I wonder if anybody but us will see it this year. :-(
I'm reading Delia Smith's Feast for Advent. It's been a while since I read it, but the daily discipline for these 25 days is good for me. I'll be reading her instructions on decorating my Christmas cake soon too. I've been feeding it with brandy over the last few weeks so it should be pretty potent by now!
This evening we watched Only Connect and University Challenge. I was proud of myself for getting a few of the former's questions correct before the team did. I'd be a disaster on that show I think.

Keep safe and well everybody. Tomorrow is the first of December and day one of the Lindt chocolate advent calendar.... I do like routines!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.