Journey Through Time

By Sue

Ridgefield NWR, Ridgefield, Washington

We went to Ridgefield today to see what we could see. It was kind of quiet. We did see a few hawks and I saw a new duck, a Ring-neck duck, but the image was not very good so I am not putting that up here. Too bad, as maybe it was a new duck for the Blip Big Year. Nope, already there! Wow, everyone has really done a great job with those bird entries. I decided on a landscape with the lone heron surveying his little kingdom. Please hit that L button and view this large. The landscapes there can be very pretty. We wanted to get up there and back before the rains came and we did. We decided to make an effort to get up there one day as early as we could as I think it would be more active. As always, check out my Flickr page for additional shots. A few hawks, some geese, etc.

Bill and his nephew had a fun evening at the game and when they got home we sat and visited until midnight. Matt, with his jet lag still in place as he traveled from Okinawa was wide awake and probably would have talked until 3 a.m. He also had a cold, which we hope he kept to himself. He is interesting to talk to what with 20 years of Marine service under his belt and having a knowledge of Asia. He has a long term relationship with his lady love, that he plans on continuing, 2 dogs and a life in Okinawa, so I guess that's where he hopes to stay. A year of on-line schooling will finish up his degree in computer science. You know, this guy had problems in high school and I feared for his future. We are all so proud of him as he cleaned up his act and found a purpose. Way to go, Matt!

Day 3 of the new healthy eating and I am still on track. I must celebrate every minute that I have stayed the course. Believe me, I do love my sugar.

Speaking of which, must go finish my late lunch. 1/2 of my yogurt container with flax seed to make me feel like it's dessert. ha

Take care and catch up with you all later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.