Main Street - Kirkwall

Honestly – you wait all morning for a biped to stravaig into view and none turn up at the same time. 

On the way into the toon we delivered a gift for Luke’s new baby and then went in past Dougal.  He is isolating as he is to go doon to the Granite City the morn for his operation.  We waved at him through the window – in fact we waved a bottle of Cadenhead’s whisky – for it is D’s birthday.
Once in the toon I started my Christmas shopping.  I met Jean and Margaret in Boots and saw Violet ootside the Blue Door also in boots.  A lady in a certain emporium knew fine it was December 1st because I was in shopping.  CMC travelled through to Holm to play badminton and dropped me off on the way.  And picked me up on the way home.

Back home I repaired the shed and read some David Abulafia but obviously not at the same time.

I had a battle royale on the phone with our ‘provider’ (euphemism of the year) in trying to get the Hoy Kirk connected to mains water.   
Back at base excitement levels reached a peak as the new portacabin was being lifted in at the back of the Gyre cottages.

I had the delight of a large plateful of watercress sandwiches as the cress is currently prolific in the tunnel.

Mrs Creel Snr thanks everyone for all of their generous good wishes yesterday.  She is full of bonhomie and has no intention of sharing her cake.

Aly Bain is 74. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.