Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Lesser Whitethroat #97

I’m having difficulty blipping at the moment as the weather has been so rubbish and we’ve not been out much at all. I need to be in the mood for indoor blips and I’ve just not been....
Anyway, the first bright day we’ve had for a while so we went for a lovely walk at Spike Island down by the canal. It was cold, but very pleasant with little to no wind at all. Not so many birds about, but great to be out and about again. 
However, today’s blip is one from the garden. After we got back from the shopping, I was watching the garden birds looking for the Jays and this little bird dropped by. I wasn’t sure what it was as it looked very pale and I thought it could be a chiffchaff or something similar although it didn’t look like one.  I put it into the Merlin app and it had it down as a Lesser Whitethroat. I’ve never seen one before and when I googled it I found that they should have migrated by now so wasn’t sure it was correct. Anyway, I posted a couple of shots to the local birding group on Facebook and they confirmed that it is definitely a lesser whitethroat and is in fact a very rare sighting at this time of the year, so I am thrilled, even if the shot is not so sharp. I’ll try and catch up on some journals this week.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.