City Life

This is what passes for a night out in Edinburgh now. There were quite a few young people braving the cold outside The Albanach on the High Street this evening at just after 5pm, when I set off to walk home. I suspect that if there were loads of young people outside a pub drinking beer out of plastic glasses in most "normal" circumstances, this would attract the attention of the police. However, luckily they seemed to be taking a reasonable relaxed view about outdoor drinking right now. Yesterday, that was true outside The Spey Lounge on Leith Walk, where there were a lot of old men with woolly hats and black gloves nursing pints (and you inevitably started to wonder that if the 'rona didn't get them, then the pneumonia would...). And on Saturday evening, as we passed what has recently rebranded as The Mother Superior on the corner of Leith Walk and Jane Street, there were a bunch of kids sitting outside with their pints. Hey ho. At least we have the vaccine to look forward to....

As last week, I took a circuitous walk on my trip home, taking in the now lit tree and rainbow on The Mound, as well as George Street and then Queen Street (as the bus was diverted for some reason). I was disappointed that for some reason St Giles was not floodlit this evening, as I had hoped to photograph that too. While it had been sunny all day, by the time I set off to head home it was starting to rain, so I had no hesitation in catching a bus on Queen Street.

It rounded off a successful day in the office, making good progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.