pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Welcome to the party, pal!

For the last few years my mother has been building a tradition whereby she gives her grandchildren and children a “1st of December” bag as a way of marking down the countdown to Christmas.

With the children not being with me on the 1st, I kept the bags back until they were with me this evening and we dived in to find amongst other stuff a Christmas t-shirt (me), Reindeer teddy (The Eldest), Chelsea onesie (m’boy) and a Unicorn onesie (The Youngest). With the fire lit and the first listen of some Buble this year, it did feel quite festive until we tucked into hot dogs followed by some ice cream, which admittedly didn’t add to the festive vibe.

The Eldest and I had enjoyed a nice talk earlier as there were some things we needed to discuss and she seemed much more relaxed as a result – probably helped by the fact that we agreed to our annual Christmas viewing of Die Hard.

The three of them played beautifully together and there was much giggling as they each took a “Which one from Friends are you?” quiz. M’boy wasn’t impressed when he came up as “Monica”, particularly when the rest were “Joey”!

I took it too, but had the majority of questions answered for me by my wonderful children:-

Q. Are you laid back or a control freak?
Them (in unison): Control freak.

What an interesting way they’ve chosen to tell me that they would like less presents this year….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.