pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Night Vision

I have been enjoying a couple of evening walks of late, and it has provided me a good opportunity to put my new-ish phone through its paces in terms of low-light photography.

Really pleased with what it was able to do with this one of Kendal Parish Church.

This talk of night time activity put me in mind of a recent intimate experience that I wanted to share with you….

The door was half open when I arrived. She was expecting me, I should have known.

She welcomed me in and gestured for me to sit down before she sat down next to me, which seemed odd. Gently, she probed me for details about myself, but in equal measure revealed nothing of herself. Who was this sphinx?

Dimming the lights, she switched chairs, sat down opposite me and stared deep into my eyes. The signs were clear and obvious, a truth unspoken but for some reason I was seeing red. She reached out to touch my face, so I looked up and away, unable to meet her inscrutable gaze, but desperately desiring a mutual dispensation of the masks we wear. To look upon one another’s form unencumbered and proudly declare at the top of our voices: “This. Is. Me!”

The lights snapping back to their full glow, pulled me from my reverie and instantly I knew she was done with me. We both knew it was over, but still she couldn’t help herself and she had to have the last word: 



“Your contact lenses look fine, sir. We’ll see you in another six months.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.