Robin Redbreast

Traditional Scottish Songs
- Verses to A Robin Redbreast

James Montgomery (1771-1854) was born in Ayrshire and in 1794 became editor of the Sheffield Iris. At that time, free speech was not as established as it is today - and the government were nervous of the potential ripple effect of the French Revolution. So, for the offence of printing some verses of a song celebrating the fall of the Bastile, he was libelled as "a wicked, malicious, seditious, and evil-disposed person." He was sentenced to three months' imprisonment in the Castle of York.


Verses to A Robin Redbreast
(Which Visits the Window
of My Prison Every Day)

Welcome, pretty little stranger!
Welcome to my lone retreat!
Here, secure from every danger,
Hop about, and chirp, and eat:
Robin! how I envy thee,
Happy child of Liberty!

...

Soon shall Spring, in smiles and blushes,
Steal upon the blooming year;
Then, amid the enamour'd bushes,
Thy sweet song shall warble clear:
Then shall I, too, join with thee -
Swell the hymn of Liberty.

Should some rough, unfeeling dobbin,
In this iron-hearted age,
Seize thee on thy nest, my Robin,
And confine thee in a cage,
Then, poor prisoner! think of me -
Think, and sigh for liberty.

More about the poet and the poem can be read here.

A cold day in Ohio today, but blessed with lots of sunshine and a beautiful blue sky. I needed my winter jacket though and wished I had taken my gloves. After our walk, Bob and I went out to eat and tried someplace new. I don't think we'll be going back any time soon. My pasta and shrimp were drowning in garlic and butter. I like both, but honestly, enough is enough! The chocolate peanut butter ice cream cone I had for dessert later was scrumptious though. I know, I know...that's a really weird dinner and dessert combo, but honestly, doesn't chocolate ice cream go with just about anything? Any time?

Have a good Sunday, Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.