Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2020 Wednesday — Big Boy

This photo is comfort food at the end of a crummy day.

I was in the periodontist office at 5:00 this evening for a “fit-me-into-his-schedule” appointment (just easier to call it an emergency appointment). I was in pain (increasing pain) in my upper left jaw (this has been ongoing for several weeks, but the periodontist was not in the office the Tuesday before Thanksgiving when I was in for my normal teeth cleaning appointment with the hygienist).

So today I learned that I have an abscess (which my periodontist explains is an infection in the bone that has destroyed the bone that the tooth attaches to, which is a back molar). My periodontist gave me a prescription for antibiotics (and I started taking it tonight before bedtime).

I have an appointment on December 22nd (which is too long to wait) to have the tooth removed, but I am also on a waiting list to get called when there is a cancellation. I will be phoning to ask about possible cancellations because I know the squeaky wheel gets the grease.

Then the tooth will be removed and a bone graft with my own bone will be done. Then in 12-14 weeks my periodontist will do an implant and then that will eventually be crowned.

The entire procedure takes several months and will be costly even though I have dental insurance.

My periodontist explained that the medicine my MD has me taking for osteoporosis has most likely caused this situation (it is a side effect of the medicine), which makes no sense to me, but I will cease taking the Fosamax for osteoporosis.

I take good care of my teeth, so I’m bummed. I don’t understand all that was explained to me today. I was definitely depressed after today’s appointment and that was the reason for comfort food.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.