Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Going on going on

The first snow of the winter arrived in our often snow-free corner of Argyll today; where the midday sun had not shone there was even snow on the beaches, which is quite unusual, and after a grey, overcast start (I think it had only just stopped snowing when I woke) it became really rather lovely for several hours. Despite the calm scene of my blip - and the suggestion that my calmly ordered life had the space arranged for a lovely lunchtime walk - I feel I've been scampering, somehow, to keep up - and the Christmas cards are still sitting in the box in which they arrived some weeks ago from my chosen charity. Motto: don't decide you absolutely must wash your hair on the morning when you also have to make bread and attend an online meeting of the lay preachers ...

And take your own blood pressure readings. As far as I'm concerned, this should be an ordinary MOT sort of thing, except for the tendency for my BP to soar when I'm in the surgery - or worse, stressed after an encounter in the waiting room  with some snuffler with mask issues. But fitting in moments of great calm, to quote my favourite poet, seems almost impossible on a daily basis.

However, some equilibrium was reached, coffee consumed, the sun still shone. So we went out, leaving the bread doing its thing in the machine, and headed to Toward for a shore walk in brilliant sunshine. The high ground inland, as well as across the water, was white - even some of the forest seemed individually powdered - and I began to feel more normal. I'm blipping the photo from Toward Sailing Club, inland across the fields to the hills around Loch Striven. The temperature had risen to 3ºC, and I felt warm enough to take off my silly hat, for a while anyway. 

And I have discovered THE warm trousers for this season. Rohan, you've done it again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.