Last gate

My iPhone camera was fixed today, in Kalmar on the mainland. The solution was to exchange the camera for a new one. Fellow blipper Keibr suggested I'd do it myself for (about) €40 but I decided to let someone else do it for €50, it took them fifteen minutes, much quicker than if I'd done it myself.

Right outside the mall where I had it fixed, they are renovating the last bit of the old city wall. Under the tarpaulin is one of the city gates, one of the biggest tourist lanes in the summer. As you can see the wall is renovated up to the gate and to the left is the wall yet to be renovated. 

They take away all the bad filling between the stones, often repaired with concrete during the fifties, but that material is too hard and will crack and let water in. After that the whole wall will start falling to pieces when the water freeze and push the stones out of position. The city wall was built between somewhere 1650 - 1695 and this new renovation will make it last many, many more years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.