Out of the woods

By Ulrike

Maud

I noticed that my last blip was sometime in the spring.
Those who remembered my darling foster-cat Maud, knows that I was rather fond of her from the beginning. 
She was so shy and scared when I picked her up at the Shelter. She would hiss and hide the first days but got curious and started to roam a bit the first weeks. But she fled everytime we moved just a tiny bit. Lars and me learned fast that she loved to play and some months later I noticed that she loved to be brushed -but still cuddles and touch with a human hand was not allowed - we would get a rather stern smack on our fingers every time we tried. In january, 6 months after we got her home, she jumped on the sofa for the first time and slowly crept on my lap. I guess I was sold back then already. 
We had some health issues to be cleared and a lot of work still before us to make her more secure being around humans but from that moment she just got better and better. 
And she became my therapy. Whenever I got home, she would squeak to sit on the sofa so she could have some 10 minutes alone with me. Whenever I had a bad day, was tired, angry, sad - she would force me to slow down, concentrate on her and she would purr so loud and heavy that I could not ignore her. She sleeps snuggled up with me almost every night and wakes me with a little purr and a little squeak when she wants me to get up. 
This fall I made it official and adopted her - so she will have her furr-ever home with me, Lars and Siri. I think that was her plan all along. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.