An Early Start

The little car needed to go through its annual MOT test and I'd booked an 8:00 appointment, because it was slightly cheaper.  
Usually I am just about waking up at 8:00 so having to be in town at this hour was something of a challenge, but I made it with time to spare. It was raining hard and the ground is frozen so I took it easy on the drive in. The gritting lorries had been out in force, though I did spot one car positioned sideways across a steep road, with people standing around, scratching their heads.
At the MOT station there was a notice extolling the benefits of fresh air and suggesting we may like to wait outside in order to socially distance. Since it was both pouring with rain and blowing a gale no-one took them up the offer, though we three customers did spread ourselves out in the waiting area, and that red and white band, plus free coffee, encouraged us to stay there.
After 15 minutes the job was done and the car passed with flying colours; no faults, no comments. As I drove home I noticed the car that had been sideways across a road had now gone, and in its place was a tractor spreading grit up and down that steep road.
I was home less than an hour after I'd left and Jan had set a very lovely breakfast table to welcome me home. Breakfast included a couple of the saffron buns I made yesterday.
Later, in the rain, we did our usual short walk, feeling righteous for getting out but walking distictly faster than usual. The lake looked like a lake, but the ice covering was still there, completely hidden under a layer of rainwater.  More coffee when we got home and we stayed home the rest of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.