Empress

I’m obviously grateful that I don’t have the uncertainty about pay and job security that many people are experiencing at the moment. However I’m exhausted by being in geographic limbo. I must keep my eye on the prize of getting the paperwork in hand for Mozambique, even though it won’t be imminent. It’s just an unsettling position to be in.

I received an email from the same ‘white lady’ who made us laugh a few years ago, and who I subsequently met in South Sudan. She reached out in case I was still working on our project, and it transported me back to romping around in the bush there on awesome field trips.

The Empress is a well-known landmark in Cambridge, which is a good city for pubs. The Empress regularly redoes its paintwork, and is currently decked out in Christmas colours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.