curns' corner

By curns

Baby it’s cold outside

There's nothing special about this photograph; you might even argue that it's not a very good photograph. But this image represents two things.

First it's the night that, for me, ended the month-long full-on COVID-19 lockdown because I came to town to meet a colleague. We had a drink - and the now mandatory substantial food accompaniment - sitting in an outdoor bar looking at the Thames.  

Secondly, it's the night that represents the arrival of winter. Because, in the weeks since I last sat outside after dark for a drink with friends, the weather has turned really cold and I was not prepared for the difference. It's freezing and it's even colder by the Thames.

I'd like to say it was so cold my hands were shaking and that's why the picture is terrible. But that's not true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.