Gormley mostly drowned

Another foul day, weather-wise, although it brightened up around 3pm for a while. The short day didn't give me much of a chance for a walk, but I did pop up to Ferry Road to send some Sodastream gas cylinder empties back, allowing me to see the Water of Leith in spate. It was similar to this. I think shortly after this, judging by twitter and Facebook, Forth Ports released a lot of water out of the sluice gate into the Firth of Forth, as the levels went right down along The Shore. It's a funny little river is the Water of Leith.

Somehow we seem to have had quite a busy day. My expected class didn't take place this morning, so I did some spinning in the afternoon. We also had to go to the supermarket and I treated myself to a poinsettia (let me see if I can keep it alive until Christmas) and some pussy willow shoots, which look vaguely Christmassy on the dining room table (especially now I've wrapped some baubles on a string around the vase). It provides blip potential.... That may have been why I did it...

Much of the rest of the day was devoted to getting a long delayed photo book of L and L's wedding started. I feel terrible about the delay. But now we've got it started it shouldn't be too hard to get it finished in time for L to see it and give it his approval when he pops up here at Christmas. Then I can have it printed in time for their departure overseas in February. Fingers crossed.

Then I made a pasta bake for dinner and after dinner we watched quite an interesting biopic about Gertrude Bell which we found on Prime. All in all, not a bad day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.