Floods but not yet tears

It must have rained all night, and was still raining hard when we got up this morning. When it eased off mid morning, I headed down to the Leith Market for a walk and some supplies and spotted how high the Water of Leith is. I think that's the Gormley, recently reinstated in our 'hood (see extra here) just poking out of the water here. As it is such a short watercourse, the Water of Leith does rise and fall spectacularly quickly.

My walk was partly to take my mind off other shitteries elsewhere. I'm relieved about the Letwin amendment, but sanguine that there now appears to be a majority in Parliament for this rubbish deal. But because Johnson has been forced to do things properly, with legislation, instead of ramming the deal through in one four hour debate, there are some hopes that amendments next week might bring some improvements.

C and K popped round in the afternoon. They are staying nearby with their son, before they fly to Spain on holiday. We ate cheese scones and blethered about all manner of things.

After my relatively long walk this morning, I'm feeling quite tired this evening, but not too bad. I wonder what I might manage tomorrow if the weather is better?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.