Ferjen

By Ferjen

6.5 degrees!

I saw the lake was reopen for swimming, and I'm not sure what possessed us, but Charlotte and I decided to try cold water swimming. And cold it was... 6.5 degrees. The route is a small 100m triangle in the winter (as opposed to the 800m loop we swim in the summer) and there were 2 safety kayaks for this small area. It was a lovely atmosphere as they had a fire pit on the beach area. We decided to do just one loop. I felt amazing for doing it but VERY VERY cold and we were in and out in 10 minutes!

Back at home we did paper chains, played in the garden and decorated a gingerbread house (one of those prebaked sets where you just put it together and decorate). The girls loved that. It seemed a shame that only about 5 minutes after we finished decorating it, it was taken apart to be eaten.

My sister brought everyone in my immediate family one of these facebook portal cameras so we had a video chat with them and later on with my parents which was lovely. I miss my Mum and Dad, it's really taking its toll now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.