clumsy

The surprisingly high number of times I've fallen this year is not a sign that I'm getting worse, it is a sign that I'm getting better. I walk faster. I walk on muddy trails. I walk on rocky, leaf-covered trails. I walk further. 

After the accident I held the railing tight, I walked slowly and carefully and when done I went home. I was very aware I could fall, I assumed my next fall would be my last, and I took all possible care. 

Yes, I fell again today ;-) 
But I was ok. 
It snowed for a few minutes this morning before turning to rain so it was wet and slippery. If I weren't feeling so much better than I was years ago I'm sure I would have been inching carefully forward instead of striding confidently. 

This evening my mother-in-law and I enjoyed a sloe gin fizz! Hooray Miranda1008 for introducing sloe gin to me. The drink tasted like fun. Figure out what fun would taste like, that is what the drink tasted like. We only had one each, I think we would have been hammered if we'd had more given the 30% alcohol level. 

This is a very old Lego toy put together by my rather marvelous nephew back when he was a marvelous boy and not the marvelous young man he is now. I think time moves differently if you don't have children. You are 30, then you wake up and you're 40, and you turn around and you're 50. You look at this kid and he's a goofy little five year old making funny jokes and then he's driving. If you have your own children, are you more aware of the passage of time as you watch them grow and change and increase in capabilities? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.