Beauty and the beefburger

I saw some chefs on TV the other night discussing street food. I'd never heard that expression. Apparently street food is food you buy and eat in the street! I thought that was called fast food, but no, fast food is crappy whereas street food is supposed to be good food, healthy, tasty and nutritious. I didn't realise how fashionable it had become due to places such as this - Borough Market near London Bridge.

But I didn't buy any because I was having lunch at an old haunt, the Boot and Flogger, with one of the movers and shakers at the FT. The staff at the B&F remembered me - that was nice. Outside on the railings are hundreds of ribbons and flowers tied there over the years to remember this as the site of Cross Bones Graveyard, unconsecrated ground reserved for the burial of so-called Winchester Geese, prostitutes who plied their trade in the Southwark area.

It was difficult choosing an image today as I also wanted to feature these umbrellas but know they have been blipped elsewhere before. That shouldn't make any difference and it doesn't but I wanted to feature some of the hard working street vendors.

A heartfelt thank you to all who commented on or visited yesterday's blip which gave me so much encouragement. No, it wasn't the greatest shot in the world, but you recognised it was a tough one to get. With all the photoshopping and fancy camera work that goes on these days it's nice to know that a hard won shot can still be appreciated. But that was yesterday and today is something of a contrast. It was either this or this one of the brollies in monochrome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.