Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Direction

As I reached the top of the moor, this flock of birds passed overhead, traveling in a different direction. I’m not sure what they are - too small for geese, possibly gulls of one kind or another.

A weekend walk means I can wander a but further, so I headed up Green Lane and onto the moor at Hope Gate. Visibility was pretty good, so I headed to the trig point from where I could see semi-snowy hills in several counties. 

At Glovershaw the pastures were not yet full of winter thrushes or waders. The moor itself was fairly quiet for bird life: a few hardy Meadow Pipit, the ubiquitous Wren and one distant Kestrel. Coming back along Sconce Lane there was a large flock of Long-tailed Tit next to the cabins.

And Sunday’s mud is now drying on my wellies in the corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.