Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Mall

I’m back down to just one day a week physically in work, so a trip into the city is a scarce thing again. It had been almost two weeks since I was last in, a factor in me forgetting to take any masks with me when I left the house. Back up the hill I came, masks were retrieved and one train later than normal I eventually got to work. Not my last forgetful moment of the day.

Work was quiet, as was the city. I think many students have flown south for the winter in advance of their official sanctioned travel window. Many did weeks ago. 

There was sunshine in the park at lunchtime, and not too many runners. Perhaps the gyms are open again? I’m losing track.

A  brief diversion to the shops on the way back to the station for some dried fruit and lotions. I was not in the mood for Christmas shopping but I walked through the mall out of curiosity and got sucked into the Lego store, as you do. It was the end of the day, it was quiet, none of the scary shopping crowds that have been all over social media for the past couple of days. 

And for the archive, a visual record of a mall at Christmas in a pandemic, masks and all.

After the first train home of two, I realised I’d left half my shopping on the carriage behind me. Folk in the ticket office at Shipley were very helpful, calculated the velocity and trajectory of my lost bag, rang their colleagues in Keighley who stepped out on a mission to intercept and retrieve. The call came back, success, but I’d have to go up to Keighley to get it. All there. Relief. Home an hour late but realistically, late for what? Yesterday’s leek and potato soup wasn't going anywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.