Walking where humans don’t.

This afternoon I made a very useful phone call. For a couple of months the brakes on my bike have needed adjustment. And I had not found out what to do. A few weeks ago, I discovered that the bike store where I have taken my bike for servicing has closed. Last week I saw one very near the apartment, and happily went in and asked if he could service my bike. 

He had me pigeon holed, and asked sadly if I have a mountain bike. No way. I have an almost pedestrian city bike. He did suggest a place close by the hospital, and I rang. To be told that it would be into January before they have a free spot. So I confided that I don’t know how to adjust the brakes. Having established that safe brakes is all I need right now. He invited me to drop by. 

I did so on the way home, and watched what he did. Maybe I can do it myself next time. It feels better to have stronger brakes. 

Tonight, is the end of year meeting of S’ book club, and the women are having a combined dinner together. At the home of one. Her husband is known to me, as he is both a cardiovascular surgeon and a staunch unionist.  After taking S and her dish into the house I had a short chat and then headed into the close by Cornwall Park.

Which is where I saw the cock pheasant. Not the same one I had seen in a car park at GreenLane clinical centre in August 2018. This one is a hybrid between the common (ring-necked) and green pheasants. Today I was able to get within 20-30 m before he just quietly turned and walked away. This park is in the central part of the city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.