A Shout!

I was strolling on my unexciting way home from the Co-op when I noticed the fire station's doors opening and the fire engine emerging.  I managed to catch the last one to board before the blue lights came on with the (very loud) siren.  It was actually rather thrilling.

Much like when the big Severn Class boats set off from a Lifeboat station on a shout, hurtling across the waves on their way to a rescue.  It's not only little boys who thrill to such events.  And these chaps are mostly volunteers, like those who man the lifeboats.

Disc 3 of my Desert Island selection is a soppy one: Jim Reeves My father, who died in 1982 – only 57 years old, loved Jim Reeves and his voice was quite similar (with a Scottish accent).  It was on the Akai reel-to-reel Hi Fi quite often, and this song was part of my education in romance :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.