Ivel from the Air

The Ivel and the Great Ouse in winter sunshine; I took my newly acquired Mavic Air drone for some airborne shots during our walk.  The major advantage of this drone is that it records Raw files as well as Jpegs, giving me more scope for processing and recovering from mistakes.

It's also a heavier drone than my Spark, allowing me to fly it in more challenging winds.  However, I had not reckoned on the problem that the obstacle avoidance system would cause me.  It has a rear obstacle avoidance system as well as one for the front and below.  So as I was bringing it in to land, vertically, on the bridge in the photo, the front system was detecting the rail on the far side, while the rear was detecting the near side.  I should have yawed it or climbed it, but all I could see was this device reversing towards the rail uprights before hitting it and dropping to the bridge floor.

It seemed undamaged, but it was quite irritating to be caught out like that, not to react quickly enough to prevent a collision.

Oh well . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.