Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A quick portrait

It was another foggy day, the fog never lifted yesterday and when I woke it it was as thick and heavy as the day before. I really did not feel like going out for a walk in the cold and fog but needs must and so Xena and I had a one hour walk around the woods, where the fog did not lift at all. By the time I got home the fog suddenly lifted and we had bright blue skies.

I did not want to blip another foggy image today so I grabbed a snap of Luke and Meriel as they were heading out. 

After lunch I had a hairdresser appointment, and I set off from home in blue skies but when I got near to the hairdresser, which is some way from home and on much higher ground, there was a very thick fog with the sunlight streaming through it, the most perfect conditions for some exciting photography - but I was late for my appointment and besides, I had left my camera at home. When I came out the hairdresser the sun was low in the sky, near to setting and so I stopped off at a nearby heath and snapped some photos with my iphone, as per the extra.

When I left the hairdresser I made an appointment for late January, and it seemed quite normal to say, 'so if we are in lockdown again I will just leave a message on the answer phone about changing my appointment' A sign of the times we live in. Yet today the first person in the world received the vaccine, a 91 year old woman living in the UK - they expect 4 million people to be vaccinated by the end of the month - fingers crossed that does happen. 

This year I have decided not to send out Christmas cards. Last year I was ripped off spent far too much on getting personal Christmas cards printed, then when you add the postage, it all amounted to a substantial and unnecessary amount. So, to help save paper and to rather direct the money to a more worthy cause I have decided to donate the amount I spent last year on a charity, so I have been spending some time deciding to which charity. As I love reading so much, and feel it is so important for children to have access to books, I have decided to donate to The BookTrust. I am sure no one will miss a Christmas card from me too much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.