Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A carol service

1. The ginger ninja in action
2. Look ma, no ears!
3. Ooh, stopping is a bit tricky

Gavin has only been home for one day and he already left again today to go to the USA. So last night we went for dinner at our local pub, it was excellent. It's great to be able to walk somewhere for supper and not to drive.

This morning we had a walk with Xena in the woods, and it was very windy. We met a 12 week old Vizsla puppy and I have forgotten just how cute they are at that age. I have noticed over the weeks how there are ‘Christmas trees’ growing wild all over the heath and today I saw the Countryside team were there chopping them down or pulling out the very young saplings as they are clearly invasive species. I noticed they were burning the cut down trees, but I wondered why they did not rather give them away as Christmas trees. Maybe they were pine trees rather than fir trees but I am not sure if that matters if you need a tree to decorate your home for Christmas.

Gavin then installed the replacement pump in the water feature that had broken because it's electrical cable was chewed by something. While he was doing that I quickly got lunch ready and he ate and then was off to the airport.

This afternoon Gavin and I were invited to the carol service at the boys’ school, and as Gavin could not attend, I went on my own. As always it was lovely with magnificent singing from the choir,  a wonderful way to truly start the Christmas season. Ideally I would have liked a photo of the choir singing but photos are not allowed in the chapel. 

A quiet Sunday evening now lies ahead - Gavin will be back in time to vote on Thursday! What a momentous week this will be.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.