Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The tree is up!

This morning I took Gavin to Waitrose as we were needing a new stand for the Christmas tree and I had seen some there that looked like they may do the trick. They did, they were perfect in fact, with a very study metal holder which sits in a plastic tub so you can keep the tree watered. 

This was preceded by a delicious breakfast at a local cafe - poached eggs on smashed avo with smoked salmon - so tasty, and as it was so filling there was no need for lunch. (I did make Thomas tuna bake for lunch though)

The tree is now up - I decorated it while Gavin was putting lights on some small trees at the entrance to the house - tasteful white lights, not gaudy ones that can cause an accident to people coming past and rubber necking in shock at the sight!

I have decided that a Christmas tree is very difficult to photograph - it always has clutter in the background, you can't quite capture the cheery feelings it evokes, and this one is a rather rubbish shot but I wanted a record of it in my journal.

We enjoyed the Christmas concert very much last night, some excellent jazzy Christmas numbers with Thomas having some trumpet solos. It was not a late night so when we got home I started watching The Marvelous Mrs Maisel (Amazon Prime). It has won 8 Emmy awards and I have heard so much about it I wanted to see what all the fuss was about - it is very different but highly enjoyable, well worth watching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.