Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Covid Orchid

I was given this orchid by good friends just after my prostatectomy in 2018.  The flowers were vivid blue, I assume some sort of tinting process, but now they are white.  It has now been in permanent flower for about a year, throughout the pandemic.

I'd started work before 7 am and was still working at 5 pm to  get everything done I could before a couple of days off.  By the end of the day my head was spinning as a constant stream of work came through, all seemingly needing my immediate attention.  

I continue to be the office grinch, challenging good meaning individuals who just want to put on something for Christmas, sadly with hardly any consideration to the potential spread of the virus.  The latest person is setting up a Christmas grotto this Saturday advertising it on social media and just telling people to turn up without any pre-booking.  All other Grottos in the area sold out weeks ago.  He has no concept of the potential mayhem this might bring if hundreds of people turn up and considers he has done everything he needs to be Covid compliant without presenting any documentation of his planning to prove it!  We tend to call these people Jedi Knights..........I'm sure you'll get the association!

Tomorrow I am going for a long walk and forget about work for a couple of days.  I am sure there will still be plenty to do when I get back.

As you've guessed this is a last minute emergency blip - there seem to be a lot of those at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.