A Different Sort of a Walk

Today I met my friend Phil for a walk at the Hoyt Arboretum. We try to do this every two weeks....but are fair weather friends these days. No indoors and no walking in the rain for us! We've been friends pretty much since I moved to Portland 15 or so years ago. He taught at the college that I worked at and we lived near each other so carpooled at least twice a week for years. When I left the college, we simply continued our friendship by walking once a week. A little different these days, but I treasure our friendship. 

It was another lovely day although a bit chilly. We did a nice loop around the arboretum and reveled in the damp, woodsy fragrance. The main blip is of an oak sapling...no idea what sort of oak it is. The extras are of a grove of...I think coastal redwoods...and a very western Oregonian forest scene. Notice, if you can see it, the sheet moss that coats the tree branches. Quintessential NW forest!

Hope you've all had lovely days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.