A Mild December Day

The weather remains quite lovely for December - 50F/10C - and although there were passing showers, the sky was blue much of the day.

I spent the afternoon with my parents....my mom and I played five games of backgammon since we tied on the 4th. Eventually my doubles beat her...but it was a stroke of luck

I took her for a walk in her wheelchair - she loves getting outside. We bundle her up with her down jacket, a blanket, a cap with ear flaps, her mask and sunglasses. You wouldn't know it was her under all of the layers! I was struck by how the circle of life has come back 'round...once upon a time she was pushing me in a stroller in Harvard Yard, Cambridge MA while my dad was in school. Now I'm pushing her around her retirement community campus. Poignant stuff.

Tomorrow we have an all day meeting for the Superfund site the the botanical garden is interested in. A three hour virtual meeting followed by an on-site visit with engineers and architects, the DEQ (Oregon Dept of Environmental Quality), EPA, various attorneys and of course our team. Hoping the rain holds off until the site visit is done. I'm sure I'll have pics!

Meanwhile, this rose blossom appears to be opening in the garden....whether it will or not...we'll just have to wait and see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.