tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Woodman's hut

Neighbour Pete built this shelter  from old pallets and uses it to store firewood and  to make walking sticks and to sit in the peace of the woodland. He is partially deaf and values the silence.

Raki (extra) and I sat for a while listening to the quietness of the winter woods. Nose atwitch, her ears were cocked for every rustle and twitter but I was keeping her on a leash, the penalty for doing a runner on me earlier. She's a wayward little dog  who disappears on  private business and doesn't return until she is ready. Then she sits innocently nearby and waits for me to spot her,  looking at me as if to say "I'm here, what's all the fuss about?" 
Loss of freedom results but I wonder if it's worth it for the excitement of the escape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.