Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

and to be honest with you, I love this blip of Chudleigh Knighton heath more than all the Xmas decs that are all over peoples gardens, up the fronts of their houses, holograms moving all over the place. What is going on!!??? If you are indoors with the curtains drawn where is the point? Sorry, party pooper probably ... I think my Swedish candle arch is under the spare bed somewhere. I don't feel at all festive, although after taking Indie for a spin around Chudleigh Knighton heath which fortunately is right over the hedge from Mum's bungalow so a perfect area to walk each morning which I have now volunteered to do for Mum.  I love walking & know plenty of walks so not a problem for me, might be a problem for hubby coz I can get carried away and walk for miles. He'll be at home watching the clock .... he's not a walker, he WAS a golf player, which are two totally different pastimes.
So having walked on the heath on a fairly dismal morning & only carrying my phone, I did a pano. I love the textures, the large mounds of Molinia caerulea (Purple Moor grass), rusty bracken,  spiky gorse bushes normally draped with cobwebs,  the beautiful silver birch trunks, & the puddles. Yep! This is my kinda eye catching. If I lived in the city it would be quite a different matter. 
Next job of the day, write the envelopes out for Mum's Xmas cards, her hands are a bit shaky, a family problem, but she had'nt written them in alphabetical order so had to keep flipping through her address book, & of course she's nattering all the time, so once or twice I had to remove the cards to check whose address I was looking for. That took an hour.
Back home I thought I'd better get on a write my cards. Barbados, Spain, & Thailand, they probably need to be gone... they will tomorrow.
Lunch.
Next a letter to the town council querying the disparity in allotment fees. Can't wait to get the reply. It's been niggling away at me for a little while so sorted.
Packed the mystery grass seed that G&J received through Amazon backalong off to the APHA - Animal & Plant Health Agency. G&J had disposed of the packaging sadly.
Prepped dinner veggies then watched Tipping Point & The Chase.

Dinner tonight - salmon, veggie & chickpea traybake with a tahini, garlicky, citrusy, parsley drizzle.

This evening's Poirot nugget - "I'm damned if I'll cry in front of a stranger".

Thanks to Bob for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.