community and compassion

My first day back at work! I was a bit apprehensive about returning but of course I needn't have worried; everyone was very kind and I was eased in very gently. I felt I could have stayed longer but best not to rush things. I'm back for another couple of hours tomorrow.

As well as the pleasure of the actual work itself, there are offshoots of being back out in the wider world...I parked outside Gracefield, and after work, I went in to but a couple of Christmas gifts from the shop and there was a small exhibition by the recently formed SWSP (South West Scotland Printmakers) Group. D has been making different kinds of prints for his art course and I have been fascinated by all the different techniques so I thought I'd go and have a look. I loved this lino/screenprint by Colin Blanchard, called "Spuggies" (sparrows), a work he did during lockdown. You can see the process here.

On the way home, I was listening to Dr Rangan Chaterjee's Latest podcast - a conversation with Dr Julian Abel, asking the question  " How can we build kindness, love and compassion into not just our personal lives but our homes, schools, workplaces and healthcare system?" It occurred to me that I am very fortunate to have a workplace where kindness and compassion are primary values. No doubt that's part of the reason why I'm looking forward to going back in again tomorrow :-)

If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.

Dalai Lama




 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.