dfb24

By dfb24

This....

....was how I felt today.....like having a major meltdown, although I didn't. Tom was eating dinner Tuesday night when his crown came off. I called the dentist first thing Wed. morning, but they're closed on Wednesdays so I left a message. At 8:00 this morning I got a call from Monica (the receptionist) asking how Tom was doing, and said that the dentist would see him at 9 if he could get there by then. The dentist office is only 2 1/2 miles away so I said of course. She asked if Tom had the crown (he did) & to bring it along as hopefully the dentist could just put it back on. We got in the car & I asked Tom if he had his phone---yes. So I said: "I'll drop you off and you call me at home when you're finished and I'll come pick you up". Okay, says Tom. Pretty soon it's 10:00, then 10:30, then 10:45 & I'm thinking they must not have been able to replace the crown and had to make a new one. A few minutes later I hear the front door open & in comes Tom. I ask how he got home, and he says he walked. WHAT?? (mind you, he hasn't walked further than around a short block in over a year). I said: "Why didn't you call me"?  Tom: "My phone didn't work". Me: "Why didn't you walk back inside the office and ask Monica to call me"?  Tom: "I didn't think of that". Tom: "I need to sit down. My right knee is really, really painful";  and he's puffing like a train engine! Tom: "Why are you looking at me like that"? Me: "Because I'm really, really upset! What on earth were you thinking"?  Tom: "You know me....I don't think. My poor brain is fried from chemo"--this said with a big grin. Me: "I'm gonna fry more than your brain if you ever try that again"!  And he started laughing.....the man is like a big kid, sheepish grin and all!  Then he asked if I could make him breakfast. He said he'd do it himself but his knee "is really, really painful & I'm shaky from walking so far". I couldn't help myself--I had to give him another "look".....you know the one, ladies.....it's the one that says: "I'm still totally pissed off at you for being so stupid"!  
He's now ensconced on the couch with his "really, really painful knee" elevated on a pillow with an ice pack on it.  
He told me that when he went out to the reception desk to pay for the x-ray and the crown being put back on,  Monica told him that our dentist told her there was no charge. Tom said that was really nice but of course he'd pay for it, and Monica said no. She said: "consider it a Christmas present from us to you". Talk about a nice man (& we love his staff, too). 
 At any rate, the theme for AbstractThursday was "decorations", and this snowman is laser cut out of a gourd. It has a little electric light inside of it so it can be lit up at night. I "liquified" it. I don't know how "abstract" it is, but it was cracking me up as I made it "melt"......I named it "Tom"!  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.