The lake at the bottom of the hill

Another day in this long period of sunlessness. It's really unusual to have so many days without any sun whatsoever, so unusual that the National newspapers are writing about it; first time since 1930, etc etc! It's not going to end any time soon either, according to the long-term forecast.
Which means we better get used to it and enjoy life anyway!  When it comes to photography it's going to be indoor photography, macro pictures, or going for "atmospheric" when outdoors.  So here's some atmosphere from today's walk in mist and drizzle...
This picure was taken as I walked out. It was very nearly dark as I returned home and crossing the last field I heard a strange coughing grunt. When I looked carefully I could make out about 8 deer ahead of me. They turned out to be three red deer and five roe deer. They hadn't seen me because it was so dark, but for the same reason I could hardly see them. I got to within about 30 metres of them, and even then they didn't run, but they steadily moved away. I guess they knew something was out there in the dark  but didn't know what so they went elsewhere, as did I!
The extra shows the Hokkaido Milk Bread I baked when I got home. To give it the full name used on the YouTube instructions, Soft Japanese Hokkaido Milk Bread, Tangzhong method.
I'm moved away from my usual sourdough bread to try this tang zhong method. Actually using it was a lot simpler than I thought it would be. If you want to know more watch the video, or search for tangzhong. Although this bread is a rich bread with egg, butter and sugar, and uses yeast, the method should work just as well with sourdough.
The magic thing about it is it produces a very soft bread that apparently lasts a week. This loaf is already a quarter gone and there is no way it's going to last a week. I'll be making this again!
So if you are a baker who makes sourdough bread, or wholemeal bread, and there's someone in your family who prefers soft white bread, then give this a try.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.