Slow sloe miles

After lots of texts our planned meeting at Lordenshaws car park did not take place. The cloud was so far down it was pointless. Chris bailed out but Katy, Ailie and I settled for Plan B.

I left at 9 am and walked 1.5 miles along the river to pick Katy up then we walked over to Thropton where we picked Ailie up. We all walked up Physic Lane to the moor. Up there we had the mince pies I’d put in my pocket with the sloe gin Ailie brought. That kept off the damp!

I left them at the bottom of Pennystane Lane and headed home. Ailie walked Katy back then went home. It was nice to catch up especially with no cars needed.

I’m reading “The big Green Tent” by Ludmila Ulitskaya who is apparently one of Russia’s most famous writers. The story starts just after the death of Stalin and follows 3 boys on their journey through life. It’s almost 600 pages of small print.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.