Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Cormorant

I was commenting to someone the other day that I hadn't seen any cormorants on the Canal for a while. There is often one perched on a fence-post near Allandale, and occasionally two, although I don't recall having seen any more than that in one go. But none at all recently.

So I was pleased to see one on my wander today. Unfortunately, just as I was about to take its picture, it flew off. Thankfully, a few minutes later when I reached their usual perching-place I spotted it - indeed there were actually four birds! Three on the fence-post and one on the water.

There must have been something of a cormorant convention going on in Allandale this afternoon. Oh, and the goosanders were invited too (see extra).
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.